alibris logo

The Essential ()


There is no shortage of excellent John Denver compilations, and RCA Legacy's two-disc Essential John Denver collection doesn't disappoint. All of the hits are here ("Rocky Mountain High," "Calypso," "Back Home Again," "Annie's Song," "Perhaps Love," etc.), and the sequencing is linear and concise. Fans looking for a more diminutive yet equally satisfying overview should check out 2005's Definitive All-Time Greatest Hits, but for the discerning listener looking to capture the full scope of the late country-pop great, this ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Leaving, on a Jet Plane
  2. Rhymes & Reasons
  3. Take Me Home, Country Roads
  4. Poems, Prayers and Promises
  5. I Guess He'd Rather Be in Colorado
  6. Friends with You
  7. Rocky Mountain High
  8. Goodbye Again
  9. I'd Rather Be a Cowboy (Lady's Chains)
  10. Farewell Andromeda (Welcome to My Morning)
  11. Sunshine on My Shoulders
  12. Back Home Again
  13. Matthew
  14. Thank God I'm a Country Boy
  15. Annie's Song
  16. Sweet Surrender
  17. Looking for Space
  18. I'm Sorry
  19. Calypso
  20. Fly Away
  21. Baby, You Look Good to Me Tonight
  22. Like a Sad Song
  23. How Can I Leave You Again
  24. It Amazes Me
  25. I Want to Live
  26. My Sweet Lady
  27. Autograph
  28. Some Days Are Diamonds (Some Days Are Stone)
  29. The Cowboy and the Lady
  30. Seasons of the Heart
  31. Shanghai Breezes
  32. Perhaps Love
  33. Wild Montana Skies
  34. Love Again
  35. Dreamland Express
  36. Is It Love?
Show Fewer Tracks

See All Releases

2007 Release



  • Music Details
  • Seller
The Essential
2007, RCA/Legacy

UPC: 886970315326


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency