Weekend Sale | Save $10. Get the code »

Hodie: An English Christmas Collection ()

by , , ,

The centerpiece of the Sixteen's collection of Christmas music by late Romantic and modern English composers is Britten's Ceremony of Carols. Harry Christophers, founder and conductor of the Sixteen, writes that performances of the piece have become so routine that practices alien to the composer's intent have become enshrined and unthinkingly repeated from performance to performance. Christophers' intent is to look freshly at the score and follow it faithfully and without preconceptions. His performance does, in fact, ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Make we joy now in this Fest, carol arrangement for chorus (Christmas Carols No. 1)
  2. Coventry Carol
  3. A Babe Is Born
  4. The Virgin's Cradle Hymn (Dormi, Jesu!)
  5. A Hymn to the Virgin, for double chorus
  6. The Lamb, for chorus
  7. A Ceremony of Carols, for treble voices (or chorus) & harp, Op. 28
  8. Sing Lullaby, carol-anthem for chorus
  9. Lute Book Lullaby
  10. A Spotless Rose, for chorus
  11. Corpus Christi, for alto, tenor & chorus
  12. Balulalow, for voice & piano
  13. Benedicamus Domino, for double chorus
  14. Tomorrow Shall Be My Dancing Day, for chorus, Op. 75/2
Show Fewer Tracks

See All Releases

2003 Release



  • Music Details
  • Seller
Hodie: An English Christmas Collection
2003, Coro

UPC: 828021600425


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency