alibris logo

The Great Summit: The Master Takes ()


Louis Armstrong and Duke Ellington were (and are) two of the main stems of jazz. Any way you look at it, just about everything that's ever happened in this music leads directly -- or indirectly -- back to them. Both men were born on the cusp of the 19th and 20th centuries, and each became established as a leader during the middle '20s. Although their paths had crossed from time to time over the years, nobody in the entertainment industry had ever managed to get Armstrong and Ellington into a recording studio to make an ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Duke's Place
  2. I'm Just a Lucky So and So
  3. Cotton Tail
  4. Mood Indigo
  5. Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me
  6. The Beautiful American
  7. Black and Tan Fantasy
  8. Drop Me Off in Harlem
  9. The Mooche
  10. In a Mellow Tone
  11. It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
  12. Solitude
  13. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  14. I'm Beginning to See the Light
  15. Just Squeeze Me (But Don't Tease Me)
  16. I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
  17. Azalea
Show Fewer Tracks

See All Releases

2001 Release



  • Music Details
  • Seller
The Great Summit: The Master Takes
2001, Blue Note

UPC: 724352454723


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency