Treasury of Library of Congress Field Recordings ()


Thirty Library of Congress field recordings from 1933 to 1946, compiled and thoroughly annotated by Stephen Wade. There are many Library of Congress collections, but the diversity of performances on this disc might make one of the better selections for someone who's interested enough in folkloric recordings to have just a few, as opposed to an academic who wants to hear as much as possible. There's Appalachian folk music, African-American spirituals, nursery rhymes by black Mississippi children, rural Southern blues, and ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Bonaparte's Retreat
  2. Rock Island Line
  3. Pretty Polly
  4. Pullin' the Skiff
  5. Shortenin' Bread
  6. Sea Lion Woman
  7. Soldier's Joy
  8. Another Man Done Gone
  9. Northfield
  10. When I Lay My Burden Down
  11. Grub Springs
  12. Ain't No Grave Can Hold My Body Down
  13. Iron Merrimac
  14. Creek Lullaby
  15. Coal Creek March
  16. Worried Life Blues
  17. One Morning in May
  18. Blood-Strained Banders
  19. Goodbye, Old Paint
  20. Lead Me to the Rock
  21. Glory in the Meeting House
  22. The Avondale Mine Disaster
  23. Roll on the Ground
  24. Diamond Joe
  25. Lost John
  26. Sept Ans Sur Mer
  27. East Texas Rag
  28. Old Joe Clark
  29. The Gypsy Davy
  30. Kiowa Story of the Flute
Show Fewer Tracks

See All Releases

1997 Release



  • Music Details
  • Seller
Treasury of Library of Congress Field Recordings
1997, Rounder

UPC: 712136150022


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency