Limited-Time Offer | $10 Off. Get the code »

Dancing in the Sky ()


Dr. Michael White has recorded fairly often since the early '90s, and displays the feel and spirit of the best New Orleans clarinetists. On some of his previous sessions, he slips out of tune in spots, but happily that is not the case on Dancing in the Sky, which is easily his finest recording to date. White composed all but two of the selections and, while some pieces are based on obvious predecessors, others are more original. White is joined by an excellent rhythm section, one of three trumpeters (Nicholas Payton, Mark ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Algiers Hoodoo Woman
  2. Dancing in the Sky (Reflection)
  3. The Truth of the Blues
  4. Give It Up (Gypsy Second Line)
  5. The Hag's Rag
  6. Angel in the Day (Devil at Night)
  7. Jambalaya Strut
  8. When the Mighty Mississippi Sleeps
  9. New Orleans Bounce (Out of the Woods)
  10. Creole Nights
  11. Down by the Riverside
  12. Amazing Grace
  13. Dancing in the Sky (Transition)
Show Fewer Tracks

See All Releases

2004 Release



  • Music Details
  • Seller
Dancing in the Sky
2004, Basin Street Records

UPC: 652905050323


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency