My Mother's Hymn Book ()


Originally included as part of the exhaustive Unearthed box set of Johnny Cash's American Records recordings, My Mother's Hymn Book is exactly what it claims to be -- songs directly out of Cash's mother's old hymnal. Featuring Cash alone playing an acoustic guitar, this is a stark, beautiful, and simple album. In the liner notes, Cash calls this his favorite record he's ever made and it's clear that learning these songs as a child is what inspired his love of music. In that sense, despite no original material, these are ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Where We'll Never Grow Old
  2. I Shall Not Be Moved
  3. I Am a Pilgrim
  4. Do Lord
  5. When the Roll Is Called Up Yonder
  6. If We Never Meet Again This Side of Heaven
  7. I'll Fly Away
  8. Where the Soul of Man Never Dies
  9. Let the Lower Lights Be Running
  10. When He Reached Down
  11. In the Sweet By and By
  12. I'm Bound for the Promised Land
  13. In the Garden
  14. Softly and Tenderly
  15. Just as I Am
Show Fewer Tracks

See All Releases

2004 Release



  • Music Details
  • Seller
My Mother's Hymn Book
2004, American

UPC: 602498613337


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency