Weekend Sale | Save $10. Get the code »

This Land Is Your Land: The Asch Recordings, Vol. 1 ()


You'd think the last word in Woody Guthrie reissues would have appeared before this. After all, the legendary folksinger recorded most of his best work nearly 60 years before this was released, and the bulk of it has been regularly reissued in fine collections on Folkways, Rounder, and other labels. So this CD is as surprising as it is welcome. What makes it probably the single best Guthrie disc you can own? For one thing, the compilers had total access to the archives of Folkways Records founder Moses Asch, for whom the ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. This Land Is Your Land
  2. Riding in My Car (Car Song)
  3. Ramblin' Round
  4. Talking Fishing Blues
  5. Philadelphia Lawyer
  6. Lindbergh
  7. Hobo's Lullaby
  8. Pastures of Plenty
  9. Grand Coulee Dam
  10. End of the Line
  11. New York Town
  12. Gypsy Davy
  13. Jesus Christ
  14. This Land Is Your Land
  15. Do-Re-Mi
  16. Jarama Valley
  17. The Biggest Thing Man Has Ever Done
  18. Picture from Life's Other Side
  19. Jesse James
  20. Talking Hard Work
  21. When That Great Ship Went Down
  22. Hard, Ain't It Hard
  23. Going Down the Road Feeling Bad
  24. I Ain't Got Nobody
  25. Sinking of the Reuben James
  26. Why Oh Why
  27. This Land Is Your Land
Show Fewer Tracks

See All Releases

1997 Release



  • Music Details
  • Seller
This Land Is Your Land: The Asch Recordings, Vol. 1
1997, Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

UPC: 093074010020


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency