1-Day Sale | Save up to $20. Get the code »

Wade in the Water, Vol. 1: African American Gospel - The Concert Tradition ()


This four-disc set, drawn from the musical examples to Bernice Johnson Reagon's outstanding National Public Radio series on African-American gospel music, deals respectively with the concert tradition in spiritual singing, the 19th-century roots of African-American congregational singing, the pioneering composers, and community gospel. As ballet music lacks a dimension without the dance, the CDs lack a dimension without the powerful mind tying the whole thing together. And to have included some of the non-African-American ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. There Is a Balm in Gilead
  2. We Shall Walk Through the Valley in Peace
  3. Roll Jordan Roll
  4. I've Been Buked and I've Been Scorned
  5. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
  6. Joshus Fit de Battle
  7. Wade in the Water
  8. Deep River
  9. Listen to the Lambs
  10. Every Time I Feel the Spirit
  11. Oh, Freedom
  12. Gospel Train
  13. I'm A-Rolling Through an Unfriendly World
  14. Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child
  15. Steal Away
  16. Go in the Wilderness
  17. Ezekiel Saw the Wheel
  18. Ain't Got Time to Die
  19. Wade in the Water
Show Fewer Tracks

See All Releases

1994 Release



  • Music Details
  • Seller
Wade in the Water, Vol. 1: African American Gospel - The Concert Tradition
1994, Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

UPC: 093074007228


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency