Dave Godin's Deep Soul Treasures: Taken From Our Vaults, Vol. 1 ()


Dave Godin is a big name, perhaps the biggest in British soul scholarship. He was a writer and critic in Blues & Soul magazine in the 1960s and 1970s, and an all-around promoter and collector who was instrumental in getting much American soul released in the U.K. This is his personal selection, accompanied by almost 10,000 words in liner notes, of 25 of his favorite "Deep Soul" tracks (a term that, according to his notes, he coined himself) from the 1960s and early 1970s. There are no songs by Otis Redding, Aretha Franklin, ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. I'm Never Gonna Live It Down
  2. Easy as Saying 1-2-3
  3. Lights Out
  4. Anyone Who Knows What Love Is (Will Understand)
  5. Have a Little Mercy
  6. Try Love
  7. I Can't Make It Without Him
  8. Showdown
  9. I'm Not the One
  10. The Turning Point
  11. Standing Here Crying
  12. She Broke My Heart
  13. You're on Top
  14. It's Not That Easy
  15. Cry Baby Cry
  16. I Still Love You
  17. Try to Leave Me If You Can (I Bet You Can't Do It)
  18. Songs to Sing
  19. How Much Longer (Must I Wait)
  20. Nothing's Too Much (Nothing's Too Good)
  21. I Feel Like Cryin'
  22. I'm Goin' for Myself
  23. Tried So Hard to Please Her
  24. The Love of My Man
  25. You Got Me
Show Fewer Tracks

See All Releases

1997 Release



  • Music Details
  • Seller
Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency