alibris logo

Black Orchid ()


This CD has all of the music originally on the two LPs Cal Tjader Goes Latin and The Cal Tjader Quintet. Since each album had two sessions apiece, the CD does a fine job of giving one a sampling of the influential vibraphonist's popular Latin jazz groups of the era. Among the key sideman are flutist Paul Horn; Jose "Chombo" Silva on tenor; pianists Lonnie Hewitt, Vince Guaraldi, and Manuel Duran; and Mongo Santamaria and Willie Bobo on percussion. The music (a mixture of Latinized standards and newer originals) is quite ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Mi China
  2. Close Your Eyes
  3. Mambo at the "M"
  4. Contigo
  5. Bonita
  6. The Lady Is a Tramp
  7. Black Orchid
  8. Happiness Is a Thing Called Joe
  9. I've Waited So Long
  10. Out of Nowhere
  11. Cuajira at the Blackhawk
  12. I Want to Be Happy
  13. The Nearness of You
  14. Pete Kelly's Blues
  15. A Minor Goof
  16. Undecided
  17. Philadelphia Mambo
  18. Flamingo
  19. Stompin' at the Savoy
  20. Laura
  21. Lullaby of Birdland
Show Fewer Tracks

See All Releases

1993 Release



  • Music Details
  • Seller
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency