Weekend Sale | $15 Off. Get the code »

alibris logo

His Best: The Chess 50th Anniversary Collection ()


With the exception of a vinyl compilation issued in the early '80s (His Greatest Sides, Vol. 1), there'd never really ever been a single-disc Howlin' Wolf best-of package available. That all changed with this entry in MCA/Chess' 50th Anniversary series, a 20-track retrospective that serves as the perfect introduction to the man and his music, some of the very best the blues has to offer. While some naysayers will always decry the exclusion -- or inclusion -- of any given number of tracks on any artist's best-of compilation, ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Moanin' at Midnight
  2. How Many More Years
  3. Evil
  4. Forty-Four
  5. Smokestack Lightning
  6. I Asked for Water (She Gave Me Gasoline)
  7. Who's Been Talking?
  8. Sitting on Top of the World
  9. Howlin' for My Darlin'
  10. Wang Dang Doodle
  11. Back Door Man
  12. Spoonful
  13. Shake for Me
  14. The Red Rooster
  15. I Ain't Superstitious
  16. Goin' Down Slow
  17. Three Hundred Pounds of Joy
  18. Hidden Charms
  19. Built for Comfort
  20. Killing Floor
Show Fewer Tracks

See All Releases

2001 Release



  • Music Details
  • Seller
His Best: The Chess 50th Anniversary Collection
1997, MCA/Chess

UPC: 076732937525


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency