Limited-Time Offer | $10 Off. Get the code »

Words and Music of World War II ()


This two-CD audio documentary mixes popular songs (usually excerpts) of the early to mid-'40s inspired by World War II and excerpts of famous speeches and news reports of the time, joined by some slightly ostentatious narration. If you're a music collector, it's not the ideal way to hear World War II topical songs, because most of the music tracks are incomplete (although a few are whole). In addition, virtually all of the music is from the Columbia catalog, which does limit its scope somewhat. If you just want to get a ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Air-Raid Siren: Warning/Pearl Harbor Is Attacked December 7th, 1941
  2. British Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain Returns from Munich, ...
  3. Indian Summer /President Roosevelt Opens the New York World's
  4. Neville Chamberlain Declares War, September 3rd, 1939/We'll Meet Again
  5. Ed Murrow on the Retreat from Dunkirk, June 1940/(There'll Be ...)
  6. The London Blitz, Fall 1940/I Don't Want to Set the World on Fire
  7. Winston Churchill Tells America "Give Us the Tools and We'll ..."
  8. Joltin' Joe Dimaggio
  9. Stalin Wasn't Stallin'
  10. This Is the Army, Mister Jones/Bell Bottom Trousers
  11. When the Lights Go on Again/Paul O'Leary, Deputy ...
  12. William Joyce "Lord Haw-Haw" Broadcasts Over German Radio/Der ...
  13. I Left My Heart at the Stage Door Canteen/Girls, Don't ...
  14. They're Either Too Young or Too Old
  15. Ed Murrow Broadcasts His Experiences on a Bomb Raid Over Berlin/Comin'
  16. You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To
  17. On the Spot Account of American Forces Landing on Iwo Jima/Stars ...
  18. President Roosevelt Addresses Congress on the Results of the ...
  19. Hitler Speaks; Death of Hitler Is Reported/When That Man Is Dead ...
  20. Finale
  21. I'm Gonna Love That Guy/Sentimental Journey
  22. Waiting for the Train to Come In
  23. It's Been a Long, Long Time
  24. My Guy's Come Back
  25. Air Raid Siren: "All Clear" Signal
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Words and Music of World War II
2001, Columbia

UPC: 074644851625


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency