Weekend Special | Up to 10% Off. Get the code »

West Coast: 1945-1949 ()


This anthology collects a number of obscure 78s by Charles Mingus, many of which have not been reissued since they were originally released during the 1940s. Many of the vocal features are fairly traditional ballads, and Mingus was by no means an inventive lyricist, but it is the strong solos by the musicians within these tracks and the often rather progressive arrangements (even if their execution is not always perfect) that generally merit the most attention. One notable exception is Helen Carr's performance on the ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. The Texas Hop
  2. Baby, Take a Chance With Me
  3. Lonesome Woman Blues
  4. Swingin' an Echo
  5. Ain't Jivin' Blues
  6. Baby, Take a Chance With Me
  7. Shuffle Bass Boogie
  8. Weird Nightmare
  9. Make Believe
  10. Honey, Take a Chance With Me
  11. Bedspread
  12. This Subdues My Passion
  13. Pipe Dream
  14. Mingus Fingers
  15. These Foolish Things
  16. Story of Love
  17. He's Gone
  18. Pennies from Heaven
  19. Lyon's Roar
  20. Say It Isn't So
  21. Boppin' in Boston
  22. The Story of Love
  23. Inspiration
  24. Rehearsal Fragment for "He's Gone"
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
West Coast: 1945-1949
2001, Uptown

UPC: 026198274825


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency