Weekend Sale | $20 Coupon. Get the code »

Welcome to the Cruel World ()


The full range of Ben Harper's influences would not come to bear until later albums, but his debut, Welcome to the Cruel World, lays a strong foundation. "Like a King" and "Take That Attitude to Your Grave" burn with a political conviction rarely heard during the 1990s. "Forever" has a tenderness which demonstrates Harper's emotional range. Lackluster hippie jams that cultivated his early following may have served a purpose but feel fluffy by comparison when compared to the meatier tracks. Ben closes the album with a song ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. The Three of Us
  2. Whipping Boy
  3. Breakin' Down
  4. Don't Take That Attitude to Your Grave
  5. Waiting on an Angel
  6. Mama's Got a Girlfriend Now
  7. Forever
  8. Like a King
  9. Pleasure and Pain
  10. Walk Away
  11. How Many Miles Must We March
  12. Welcome to the Cruel World
  13. I'll Rise
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Welcome to the Cruel World

UPC: 5099926798417


Welcome to the Cruel World
1994, Virgin

UPC: 724383932023


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency