alibris logo

The Wild Tchoupitoulas ()


The Wild Tchoupitoulas -- a group of Mardi Gras Indians headed by George "Big Chief Jolly" Landry -- only released one album, but that one record caused a sensation upon its initial 1976 release. It was one of the first records of the album-oriented rock generation that captured the heady gumbo of New Orleans R&B and funk. Landry may have fronted the Wild Tchoupitoulas, but the key to the record's success was his nephews, Charles and Cyril Neville, who headed the rhythm section. They drafted in their brothers, Art and Aaron ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Brother John
  2. Meet the Boys on the Battlefront
  3. Here Dey Come
  4. Hey Pocky A-Way
  5. Indian Red
  6. Big Chief Got a Golden Crown
  7. Hey Mama (Wild Tchoupitoulas)
  8. Hey Hey (Indians Comin')
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency