Limited-Time Offer | $10 Off. Get the code »

The Singer -- The Songwriter: 1949-1960 ()


The 11 years covered in this first of two Don Gibson retrospectives by the German Bear Family label are the most captivating in his career. Beginning in 1949, Gibson began recording as part of the hillbilly jump band Sons of the Soil for Mercury. From the moment Gibson's lead vocal comes through the mix it is evident that even if he wasn't writing a lot of songs at the time, he was performing them as if they were his. Early on he issued four tracks, including the underground classic "Automatic Mama," a rockabilly prototype. ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. I Lost My Love (The Color Song)
  2. Why Am I So Lonely?
  3. Automatic Mama
  4. Cloudy Skies
  5. I Love No One But You
  6. Carolina Breakdown
  7. Roses Are Red
  8. Wiggle Wag
  9. Dark Future
  10. Just Let Me Love You
  11. A Blue Million Tears
  12. Red Lips, White Lies and Blue Future
  13. Sample Kisses
  14. No Shoulder to Cry On
  15. Let Me Stay in Your Arms
  16. We're Stepping Out Tonight
  17. Waitin' Down the Road
  18. Walkin' in the Moonlight
  19. I Just Love the Way You Tell a Lie
  20. You Cast Me Out (Forevermore)
  21. Symptoms of Love
  22. Selfish With Your Kisses
  23. Ice Could Heart
  24. Many Times I've Waited
  25. The Road of Life Alone
  26. Run Boy
  27. Sweet Dreams
  28. I Must Forget You
  29. Ah-Ha
  30. It Happens Everytime
  31. I Ain't Gonna Waste My Time
  32. I Ain't A-Studyin' You, Baby
  33. I'm Gonna Fool Everybody
  34. I Believed in You
  35. What a Fool I Was to Fall (For You)
  36. You're the Only One for Me
  37. I Love You Still
  38. Everything Turns Out for the Best
  39. I Can't Leave
  40. Sittin' Here Cryin'
  41. Too Soon to Know
  42. Pretty Rainbow
  43. Blue Blue Day
  44. Tell It Like It Is
  45. Oh, Lonesome Me
  46. I Can't Stop Loving You
  47. Tell It Like It Is
  48. It Has to Be
  49. Give Myself a Party
  50. Look Who's Blue
  51. Bad Bad Day
  52. I Can't Leave
  53. Take Me as I Am (Or Let Me Go)
  54. Heartbreak Avenue
  55. We Could
  56. If You Don't Know It
  57. Sweet, Sweet Girl
  58. Blues in My Heart
  59. Give Myself a Party
  60. Taller Than Trees
  61. Satisfied
  62. Wait for the Light to Shine
  63. Canaan's Land
  64. Evening Prayer
  65. Satisfied
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
The Singer -- The Songwriter: 1949-1960
1994, Bear Family Records

UPC: 790051154752


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency