2-Day Sale | $10 Off. Get the code »

alibris logo

The Gene Ammons Story: Gentle Jug ()


This single CD reissues the two-LP set of the same name. Included are two sessions originally cut for Prestige's subsidiary Moodsville (Nice an' Cool and The Soulful Mood of Gene Ammons), which are purposely relaxed and strictly at ballad tempos. Fortunately, Ammons (who had a distinctive, huge tone) was long a master at interpreting ballads, and although these performances do not quite reach the heights of his greatest recordings, the lyrical music is quite enjoyable. Accompanied by either Richard Wyands or Patti Bown on ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Till There Was You
  2. Answer Me, My Love
  3. Willow Weep for Me
  4. Little Girl Blue
  5. Something I Dreamed Last Night
  6. Something Wonderful
  7. I Remember You
  8. Someone to Watch Over Me
  9. Two Different Worlds
  10. But Beautiful
  11. Skylark
  12. Three Little Words
  13. Street of Dreams
  14. You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To
  15. Under a Blanket of Blue
  16. I'm Glad There Is You
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
The Gene Ammons Story: Gentle Jug
1994, Prestige

UPC: 025218547925


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency