Save $10 through Sunday. Get the code »

alibris logo

The Evolution of Gospel ()


Though from beginning to end one of the best gospel albums of its era, The Evolution of Gospel became and remains noteworthy because of three songs in particular: "Optimistic," "The Pressure," and "Testify." These three songs rocketed to the upper reaches of the R&B charts in 1992, all three entering the Top 20 and "Optimistic" peaking at number three -- remarkable numbers for such unashamed gospel music. And these weren't flukes or novelty hits. No, these were amazing songs that captured the spirit of the time, in ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Chains
  2. Optimistic
  3. Ah Been Workin'
  4. The Pressure, Pt. 1
  5. Testify
  6. Gonna Be Free One Day
  7. Stand!
  8. The Pressure, Pt. 2
  9. Your Wish Is My Command
  10. Hallelujah Lord!
  11. We Give You Thanks
  12. He Holds the Future
  13. What Shall I Call Him?
  14. Better Watch Your Behavior
  15. Please Take My Hand
  16. I'll Fly Away
  17. Harambee (Swahili for Let Us All Pull Together)
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
The Evolution of Gospel
1991, Perspective

UPC: 028968100020


The Evolution of Gospel
1991, Perspective

UPC: 028968100044


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency