alibris logo

The Duke Elington Carnegie Hall Concerts, January 1943 ()


This two-CD set captures one of the milestones in Duke Ellington's long and extremely productive career, highlighted by his monumental suite "Black, Brown and Beige" in the only full-length version ever recorded by his orchestra; soon it was only performed as excerpts. In addition, Ellington's all-star orchestra (including such stylists as trumpeters Rex Stewart, Ray Nance, and Shorty Baker; trombonists Tricky Sam Nanton and Lawrence Brown; and a saxophone section boasting Johnny Hodges, Ben Webster, and Harry Carney) ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. The Star Spangled Banner
  2. Black and Tan Fantasy
  3. Rockin' in Rhythm
  4. Moon Mist
  5. Jumpin' Punkins
  6. A Portrait of Bert Williams
  7. Bojangles
  8. Portrait of Florence Mills (Black Beauty)
  9. Ko Ko
  10. Dirge
  11. Stomp (Johnny Come Lately)
  12. Are You Sticking?
  13. Black
  14. Brown
  15. Beige
  16. Bakiff
  17. Jack the Bear
  18. Blue Belles of Harlem
  19. Cotton Tail
  20. Day Dream
  21. Boy Meets Horn
  22. Rose of the Rio Grande
  23. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  24. Going Up
  25. Mood Indigo
Show Fewer Tracks

Currently there are no copies available. However, our inventory changes frequently. Please check back soon or try Book Fetch.
The Duke Elington Carnegie Hall Concerts, January 1943
1999, Fan

UPC: 090204703654


The Duke Elington Carnegie Hall Concerts, January 1943
1991, Prestige

UPC: 025218540421


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency