alibris logo

The Definitive Collection ()


The Definitive Collection devoted to Louis Armstrong takes a reverse chronological view of the pop giant's career, a format that functions surprisingly well considering its intended purpose. Beginning with his last major performance, 1967's "What a Wonderful World," the disc takes listeners on a 75-minute tour that pays closest attention to his pop and vocal landmarks of the '50s and '60s with his All-Stars group, but also reaches back to 1938 to pick up the best moments of his excellent big band. (That leaves, of course, ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. What a Wonderful World
  2. Cabaret
  3. Dream a Little Dream of Me
  4. Hello, Dolly!
  5. Our Love Is Here to Stay
  6. I Gotta Right to Sing the Blues
  7. Georgia on My Mind
  8. When You're Smiling (The Whole World Smiles with You)
  9. On the Sunny Side of the Street
  10. Mack the Knife
  11. Basin Street Blues
  12. Someday (You'll Be Sorry)
  13. It Takes Two to Tango
  14. Gone Fishin'
  15. A Kiss to Build a Dream On
  16. That Lucky Old Sun (Just Rolls Around Heaven All Day)
  17. Blueberry Hill
  18. Do You Know What It Means to Miss New Orleans?
  19. I Want a Little Girl
  20. Ain't Misbehavin'
  21. Struttin' with Some Barbecue
  22. When the Saints Go Marching In
  23. When It's Sleepy Time Down South
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
The Definitive Collection
2006, Hip-O/Verve

UPC: 602498828892


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency