The Complete Recordings, Vol. 1 [Columbia/Legacy] ()


In the 1970s, Bessie Smith's recordings were reissued on five double LPs. Her CD reissue series also has five volumes (the first four are double-CD sets) with the main difference being that the final volume includes all of her rare alternate takes (which were bypassed on LP). The first set (which, as with all of the CD volumes, is housed in an oversize box that includes an informative booklet) contains her first 38 recordings. During this early era, Bessie Smith had no competitors on record and she was one of the few ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Downhearted Blues
  2. Gulf Coast Blues
  3. Aggravatin' Papa
  4. Beale Street Mama
  5. Baby Won't You Please Come Home
  6. Oh! Daddy Blues
  7. 'Tain't Nobody's Bizness If I Do
  8. Keeps on A-Rainin' (Papa, He Can't Make No Time)
  9. Mama's Got the Blues
  10. Outside of That
  11. Bleeding Hearted Blues
  12. Lady Luck Blues
  13. Yodling Blues
  14. Midnight Blues
  15. If You Don't, I Know Who Will
  16. Nobody in Town Can Bake a Sweet Jelly Roll Like Mine
  17. Jailhouse Blues
  18. St. Louis Gal
  19. Sam Jones Blues
  20. Graveyard Dream Blues
  21. Cemetery Blues
  22. Far Away Blues
  23. I'm Going Back to My Used to Be
  24. Whoa, Tillie, Take Your Time
  25. My Sweetie Went Away
  26. Any Woman's Blues
  27. Chicago Bound Blues
  28. Mistreatin' Daddy
  29. Frosty Morning Blues
  30. Haunted House Blues
  31. Eavesdropper's Blues
  32. Easy Come, Easy Go Blues
  33. Sorrowful Blues
  34. Pinchbacks-Take 'Em Away!
  35. Rocking Chair Blues
  36. Ticket Agent, Ease Your Window Down
  37. Bo Weavil Blues
  38. Hateful Blues
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
The Complete Recordings, Vol. 1 [Columbia/Legacy]
1991, Columbia/Legacy

UPC: 074644709124


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency