Weekend Sale | Save $10. Get the code »

The Bach Collection ()

by , , , , , , , , , ,

This is among the more successful entries in Sony's (Insert Name of Great Composer Here) Collection series, and the new listener to classical music will generally enjoy it. The music included leans pretty far in the direction of Bach's great tunes as opposed to his dizzying intellectual accomplishments, his total mastery of harmony, or his profoundly dramatic understanding of religious faith, to take a few more possible entry points. But among all the riches of Bach you have to start somewhere. The performances included are ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Partita for solo violin No. 3 in E major, BWV 1006: Preludio
  2. Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major, BWV 1068: No. 2. Air
  3. Cantata No. 140, "Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme," BWV 140 (BC A166): "Sleepers Awake"
  4. Minuet for keyboard No. 1 in G major, BWV Anh. 114 (AMN II/4; by Christian Pezold, not JSB)
  5. Musette for keyboard in D major, BWV Anh. 126 (AMN II/22; doubtful)
  6. Bist du bei mir, aria arranged for voice & continuo, BWV 508 (after Gottfried Stölzel)
  7. March for keyboard in D major, BWV Anh. 122 (AMN II/16; by C.P.E. Bach, not JSB)
  8. Prelude and Fugue, for keyboard No. 17 in A flat major, BWV 862 (BC L96) (WTC I/17): Preludium
  9. English Suite, for keyboard No. 3 in G minor, BWV 808 (BC L15): Gavotte
  10. Cantata No. 82, "Ich habe genug," BWV 82 (BC A169): Aria
  11. French Suite, for keyboard No. 5 in G major, BWV 816 (BC L23): Gavotte
  12. French Suite, for keyboard No. 5 in G major, BWV 816 (BC L23): Gigue
  13. Toccata and Fugue, for organ in D minor, BWV 565 (BC J37)
  14. Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B minor, BWV 1067: Badinerie
  15. In dulci jubilo (IV), chorale prelude for organ, BWV 751 (by Johann Micheal Bach, not JSB)
  16. Cantata No. 147, "Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben," BWV 147 (BC A174): "Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring"
  17. Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott (I), chorale setting for 4 voices, BWV 302 (BC F53.1)
  18. St. Matthew Passion (Matthäuspassion), for soloists, double chorus & double orchestra, BWV 244 (BC D3b): Erbarme Dich
  19. Cantata No. 156, "Ich steh mit einem Fuss im Grabe," BWV 156 (BC A38): Sinfonia
  20. Fugue for organ in G minor ("Little"), BWV 578 (BC J66)
  21. Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 in F major, BWV 1047: 3. Allegro assai
  22. Italian Concerto, for solo keyboard in F major, BWV 971 (BC L7) (Clavier-Übung II/1): Presto
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
The Bach Collection
2006, Sony Music

UPC: 828768524121


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency