Weekend Sale | Save $10. Get the code »

Swingin' New Big Band ()


1966 was a most illogical time for anyone to try forming a new big band but Buddy Rich beat the odds. This CD reissues the first album by the Buddy Rich Orchestra, augmenting the original Lp program with nine previously unissued performances from the same sessions. The arrangements (eight by Oliver Nelson along with charts by Bill Holman, Phil Wilson, Jay Corre, Don Rader and others) swing, put the emphasis on the ensembles and primarily feature Corre's tenor although trumpeter Bobby Shew, altoist Pete Yellin, pianist John ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Ready Mix
  2. Basically Blues
  3. Critic's Choice
  4. My Man's Gone Now
  5. Uptight (Everything's Alright)
  6. Sister Sadie
  7. More Soul
  8. West Side Story Medley: Overture/Cool/Something's Coming/Somewhere
  9. What'd I Say
  10. Hoe Down
  11. Step Right Up
  12. Apples
  13. Chicago
  14. In a Mellow Tone
  15. Never Will I Marry
  16. Lament for Lester
  17. Naptown Blues
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Swingin' New Big Band
1996, Blue Note

UPC: 724383523221


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency