Stokowski: Bach Transcriptions ()

by , ,

The gift that conductor and composer José Serebrier inherited from his former mentor, Leopold Stokowski, is immediately apparent upon even a brief listen to this album. Both men have an alluring gift: the ability to make an orchestra sound gorgeous. Serebrier is perhaps one of the few remaining authoritative spokesmen for Stokowski, and his passion and deep sentiment for his former mentor's works is audible. He sculpts the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra into a shapely, luxurious, and rich ensemble of which Stokowski would ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major, BWV 1068: Air
  2. Cantata No. 208, "Was mir behagt" ("Hunt Cantata"), BWV 208 (BC G1, G3): Sheep may safely graze
  3. Fugue for organ in G minor ("Little"), BWV 578 (BC J66)
  4. Komm, süsser Tod, for voice & continuo, BWV 478 (BC F227) (Schemelli Gesangbuch No. 868)
  5. Cantata No. 4, "Christ lag in Todes Banden," BWV 4 (BCA 54): Chorale
  6. St. John Passion (Johannespassion), BWV 245 (BC D2): Es ist vollbracht!
  7. Wir glauben all an einen Gott (I), chorale prelude for organ, BWV 680 (BC K12) (Clavier-Übung III/12)
  8. Nun komm der Heiden Heiland (I), chorale prelude for organ, BWV 599 (BC K28) (Orgel-Büchlein No. 1)
  9. Two Ancient Liturgical Melodies, for orchestra
  10. Messiah, oratorio, HWV 56: Pastoral Symphony
  11. Dido and Aeneas, opera, Z. 626: Dido's Lament
  12. Passacaglia and Fugue, for organ in C minor, BWV 582 (BC J79)
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Stokowski: Bach Transcriptions
2006, Naxos

UPC: 747313288328


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency