Black Friday Sale | $20 Coupon. Get the code »

alibris logo

Starlight on the Rails: A Songbook ()


Utah Phillips has become an American folk institution -- or is that an anti-institution? A former union organizer, he might not be well known in the greater scheme of music, but he's certainly worth this four-CD, 61-track box set. What makes it especially fascinating is the fact that each of the cuts is accompanied by Phillips' reflections on the pieces, whether performed by him or others. He's as much a raconteur and philosopher as songwriter. With its mix of live, studio, and unreleased performances, it justifies calling ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Songbook Introduction
  2. Utah on "The Telling Takes Me Home"
  3. The Telling Takes Me Home
  4. Utah on "Yuba City"
  5. Yuba City
  6. Utah on "All Used Up"
  7. All Used Up
  8. Utah on "Frisco Road"
  9. Frisco Road
  10. Utah on "Queen of the Rail"
  11. Queen of the Rails
  12. Utah on "Wabash Cannonball/Tolono"
  13. Wabash Cannonball/Tolono
  14. Utah on "Weepy Doesn't Know"
  15. Weepy Doesn't Know
  16. Utah on "Funeral Train"
  17. Funeral Train
  18. Utah on "Green Rolling Hills of West Virginia"
  19. Green Rolling Hills of West Virginia
  20. Utah on "Phoebe Snow"
  21. Phoebe Snow
  22. Utah on "He Comes Like Rain"
  23. He Comes Like Rain
  24. Utah on "The Soldier's Return"
  25. The Soldier's Return
  26. Utah on "Touch Me"
  27. Touch Me
  28. Utah on "If I Could Be the Rain"
  29. If I Could Be the Rain
  30. Utah on "Starlight on the Rails"
  31. Starlight on the Rails
  32. Utah on "Talking N.P.R. Blues"
  33. Talking N.P.R. Blues
  34. Utah on "John D. Lee"
  35. John D. Lee
  36. Utah on "Dancers"
  37. Dancers
  38. Utah on "Dog Canyon"
  39. Dog Canyon
  40. Utah on "Look For Me in Butte"
  41. Look For Me in Butte
  42. Utah on "Goodnight Loving Trail"
  43. Goodnight Loving Trail
  44. Utah on "Daddy, What's a Train?"
  45. Daddy, What's a Train?
  46. Utah on "Fly Away"
  47. Fly Away
  48. Utah on "Kid's Liberation"
  49. Kid's Liberation
  50. Utah on "Sing in the Spring"
  51. Sing in the Spring
  52. Utah on "Eddie's Song"
  53. Eddie's Song
  54. Utah on "Shadow Maker"
  55. Shadow Maker
  56. Utah on "She'll Never Be Mine"
  57. She'll Never Be Mine
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Starlight on the Rails: A Songbook
2014, Trade Root Music

UPC: 877746007026


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency