Cyber Monday Sale | $20 Off. Get the code »

alibris logo

Soul Alive! ()


For pure soul testifying, no one compares to Solomon Burke. He earned his title -- "King of Soul" -- by bringing the gospel fervor of the Southern preacher to his performances, and no recording proves his command over an audience quite like Soul Alive! Recorded in 1983 in Washington, D.C., the set proves Burke had lost little from his '60s heyday; he works through nearly all of his hits, spurring on the concert-goers as though they were the ones performing instead of him -- in fact, some of the women are heard screaming ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Introduction: Everybody Needs Somebody to Love
  2. Medley: Tonight's the Night/Beautiful Brown Eyes/Just a Matter of Time
  3. Cry to Me
  4. Medley: Monologue/Take Me (Just as I Am)/I Can't Stop Loving ...
  5. Down in the Valley
  6. Proud Mary
  7. Introduction to Encore/Gotta Get You off My Mind
  8. Medley: Meet Me in Church/The Price/Words/Monologue
  9. Medley: You're Good for Me/Send Me Some Lovin'
  10. Medley: Gotta Get You off My Mind/Having a Party/Amen
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Soul Alive!
2002, Rounder

UPC: 011661216723


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency