Songs of Our Native Daughters ()


The Smithsonian Folkways-issued debut album from Carolina Chocolate Drops frontwoman Rhiannon Giddens, former Carolina Chocolate Drops cellist Leyla McCalla, multi-instrumentalist Allison Russell (Po' Girl, Birds of Chicago), and alt-country/blues singer/songwriter Amythyst Kiah, Songs of Our Native Daughters is a bold, brutal, and often beautiful dissertation on racism, hope, misogyny, agency, and slavery told from the perspective of four of modern roots music's most talented women, who also happen to be black. That all ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Black Myself
  2. Moon Meets the Sun
  3. Barbados
  4. Quasheba, Quasheba
  5. I Knew I Could Fly
  6. Polly Ann's Hammer
  7. Mama's Cryin' Long
  8. Slave Driver
  9. Better Git Yer Learnin'
  10. Lavi Difisil
  11. Blood and Bones
  12. Music and Joy
  13. You're Not Alone
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Songs of Our Native Daughters
2019, Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

UPC: 093074023228


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency