Weekend Special | Take 10% Off. Get the code Ľ

Softly Awakes My Heart ()


Living Era's tribute to Marian Anderson is composed of recordings she made between August 1928 and June 1946. This portrait album is divided into various "chapters" representing different aspects of the European classical repertoire along with two distinct sections made up of what were then referred to as traditional Negro spirituals. Marian Anderson's life and work occurred within a specific social context; because of her African ancestry she was refused admission to the Philadelphia Academy in 1923. In 1925 racism ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Softly Awakes My Heart
  2. O Don Fatale
  3. Heav'n! Heav'in!
  4. Deep River
  5. Trampin'
  6. Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child
  7. Ev'ry Time I Feel de Spirit
  8. He Was Despised
  9. Erbarme Dich
  10. Die Forelle
  11. Ave Maria
  12. Der Nussbaum
  13. Geistliches Wiegenlied
  14. In the Silence of the Secret Night
  15. Plaisir d'Amour
  16. The Maiden's Tryst
  17. I Know de Lord's Laid His Hand on Me
  18. Were You There?
  19. Oh, What a Beautiful City!
  20. Go Down Moses
  21. Dere's No Hidin' Place
  22. My Old Kentucky Home
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Softly Awakes My Heart
1999, ASV/Living Era

UPC: 743625526226


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency