Today Only | Save $15. Get the code »

Schubert: Arpeggione Sonata

by ,

One might be forgiven for initially thinking that this recital featuring works for cello and piano by Franz Schubert, Anton Webern, and Alban Berg was, well, a stunt. After all, aside from their birth in the city of Vienna, what do the three composers have in common? Schubert was the quintessential master of lyrical Austro-German romanticism, while Webern and Berg were two of the three most reviled masters of atonal Austro-German expressionism -- the third, of course, was Arnold Schoenberg -- and one might think they'd be ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Sonata for arpeggione & piano in A minor ("Arpeggione Sonata"), D. 821
  2. Das Wandern, song for voice & piano (Die schöne Müllerin), D. 795/1 (Op. 25/1)
  3. Ungeduld ("Ich schnitt' es gern"), song for voice & piano (Die schöne Müllerin), D. 795/7 (Op. 25/7)
  4. Little Pieces (3) for cello & piano, Op. 11
  5. Die Vögel ("Wie lieblich und fröhlich"), song for voice & piano, D. 691 (Op. posth. 172/6)
  6. Sonatina for violin & piano in D major, D. 384 (Op. posth. 137/1)
  7. Wiegenlied ("Schlafe, schlafe, holder süsser Knabe"), song for voice & piano ("Mille Cherubini in Coro"), D. 498 (Op. 98/2)
  8. Pieces (4) for clarinet & piano, Op. 5
  9. Nacht und Träume (Heil'ge Nacht, du sinkest nieder!"), song for voice & piano, D. 827 (Op. 43/2)
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Schubert: Arpeggione Sonata
2006, Harmonia Mundi

UPC: 794881816729


Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency