Limited-Time Offer | $10 Off. Get the code »

Rhapsodies in Black: Music and Words From the Harlem Renaissance ()


Rhino's four-disc box set Rhapsodies in Black: Music and Words From the Harlem Renaissance celebrates the Harlem of the '20s and '30s, when the city was thriving with creativity and brilliance, not just in music, but in literature, art, drama, and poetry. Rhino intends to recreate that time with Rhapsodies in Black, picking seminal recordings and augmenting them with poetry readings (including selections read by such contemporary artists as Chuck D, Quincy Jones, Ice-T, LeVar Burton, Alfre Woodard, Angela Bassett, and ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. The Negro Speaks of Rivers
  2. Cotton Club Stomp
  3. The Harlem Strut
  4. Brother Low Down
  5. Letter from Aaron Douglas to Langston Hughes
  6. There'll Be Some Changes Made
  7. Sounds of Africa
  8. Sweet Man O' Mine
  9. The Weary Blues
  10. Blues Ain't Nothin' Else But!
  11. Kansas City Main Blues
  12. Indianola
  13. Hard Hearted Hannah
  14. Sonnet to a Negro in Harlem
  15. St. Louis Blues
  16. Copenhagen
  17. Cake Walking Babies from Home
  18. Long Gone
  19. Railroad Blues
  20. Smoke, Lillies and Jade!
  21. (Lookie, Lookie, Lookie) Here Comes Cookie
  22. Charleston
  23. Chili Pepper
  24. Lucy Long
  25. Chain Gang Blues
  26. Mother to Son
  27. Deep River
  28. East St. Louis Toodle-Oo
  29. Lazy Drag
  30. How It Feels to Be Colored Me
  31. Sengalese Stomp
  32. After You've Gone
  33. Dead Drunk Blues
  34. No Images
  35. Woke Up With the Blues in My Fingers
  36. Worried Blues
  37. Humpty Dumpty
  38. Ham and Eggs
  39. Sugar
  40. If We Must Die
  41. Honey, I'm All out and Down
  42. My Handy Man
  43. Ain't Misbehavin'
  44. A Handful of Riffs
  45. Bright Boy Blues
  46. The Debt
  47. Harlem Fuss
  48. Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out
  49. Fare Thee Honey Blues
  50. Soon
  51. Smashing Thirds
  52. Do Shuffle
  53. Wherever There's a Will There's a Way
  54. Dee Blues
  55. Odyssey of Big Boy
  56. Minnie the Moocher
  57. Panama
  58. Royal Garden Blues
  59. America
  60. Jesus Gonna Make up My Dying Bed
  61. I Want to Die While You Love Me
  62. Stormy Weather
  63. Corrine, Corrina
  64. Sweetie Dear
  65. The Damnation of Women
  66. Baby!
  67. Happy as the Day Is Long
  68. I Got Rhythm
  69. Let's Get Together
  70. Their Eyes Were Watching God
  71. Oh, Lady Be Good
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Rhapsodies in Black: Music and Words From the Harlem Renaissance
2000, Rhino

UPC: 081227987428


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency