People Get Ready: The Curtis Mayfield Story ()


The focus of this three-CD, 51-song production is on Curtis Mayfield's solo work; much of the first disc is devoted to his most popular work with the Impressions, but the remainder of the compilation surveys his solo output from 1970 to 1990. The Impressions tracks are uniformly excellent, but the Mayfield-only cuts are more problematic. The best of these -- the Superfly highlights, of course, and early-'70s singles like "(Don't Worry) If There's a Hell Below We're All Going to Go" and "Beautiful Brother of Mine" -- are as ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Gypsy Woman
  2. It's All Right
  3. I'm So Proud
  4. Keep on Pushing
  5. Amen
  6. People Get Ready
  7. Woman's Got Soul
  8. We're a Winner
  9. I Loved and I Lost
  10. Fool for You
  11. This Is My Country
  12. Choice of Colors
  13. The Makings of You
  14. (Don't Worry) If There's a Hell Below, We're All Going to Go
  15. Move on Up
  16. We the People Who Are Darker Than Blue
  17. Check Out Your Mind
  18. Mighty Mighty (Spade and Whitey)
  19. Stone Junkie
  20. Beautiful Brother of Mine
  21. Get Down
  22. We Got to Have Peace
  23. Freddie's Dead
  24. Superfly
  25. Give Me Your Love
  26. Pusherman
  27. Future Shock
  28. If I Were Only a Child Again
  29. Can't Say Nothin'
  30. Kung Fu
  31. Sweet Exorcist
  32. To Be Invisible
  33. Mother's Son
  34. Billy Jack
  35. So in Love
  36. Only You Babe
  37. Party Night
  38. Mr. Welfare Man
  39. Show Me Love
  40. Do Do Wap Is Strong in Here
  41. You Are, You Are
  42. Do It All Night
  43. You're So Good to Me
  44. Between You Baby and Me
  45. Love's Sweet Sensation
  46. Love Me, Love Me Now
  47. Tripping Out
  48. She Don't Let Nobody (But Me)
  49. Baby It's You
  50. Homeless
  51. Do Be Down
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
People Get Ready: The Curtis Mayfield Story
1996, Rhino/Warner Bros.

UPC: 081227226220


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency