Weekend Sale | Save $10. Get the code »

Pavans and Fantasies from the Age of Dowland ()

by , , , , , ,

The seven Lachrimae Pavans of John Dowland, intensive explorations not only of a single musical theme but also of a single melancholy emotion, are unique, not only in the music of the English Renaissance, but really in the entire history of Western concert music. The reason for their composition is not known, but they are intensely inward works, and a performance that focuses the listener's mind in a contemplative way is required. There's one here in this reading, led by violinist John Holloway, although the recording is ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Lachrimae antiquae, for 5 viols/violins & lute (from "Lachrimae")
  2. Fantasia upon one note, for 5 viols in F major, Z. 745
  3. Lachrimae antiquae novae, for 5 viols/violins & lute (from "Lachrimae")
  4. Aires for 2 division viols in C
  5. Lachrimae gementes, for 5 viols/violins & lute (from "Lachrimae")
  6. Fantasy for 4 instruments No. 12 in D major
  7. Lachrimae tristes, for 5 viols/violins & lute (from "Lachrimae")
  8. Canzonets to 2 Voices (1595): Lamento for 2
  9. Lachrimae coactae, for 5 viols/violins & lute (from "Lachrimae")
  10. The Broken Consort Part 1, suites (6) for 2 violins, bass viol & continuo
  11. Lachrimae amantis, for 5 viols/violins & lute (from "Lachrimae")
  12. Fantasy a 5 in C major
  13. Lachrimae verae, for 5 viols/violins & lute (from "Lachrimae")
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Pavans and Fantasies from the Age of Dowland
2014, ECM New Series

UPC: 028948104307


Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency