Save $10 through Sunday. Get the code »

Passage 138 B.C. - A.D. 1611 ()


Many people do not realize that the major and minor keys are but vestiges of a system of eight modes devised by the ancient Greeks. The composition of music in the West was dominated by this system for 1100 years, from circa 400 C.E. to 1500 C.E., although it originated earlier and lasted longer in some places. On this disc, Empire Brass Quintet explores modal music wiht the aid of two vocalists, a guitarist, a bassist, a synthesizer player and a percussionist. Since there is a deep connection between brass instruments and ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Haec Dies
  2. Spiritual Dance
  3. Minimal
  4. Sibley Sanctus Lydian
  5. De profundis
  6. Hupfer Tanz
  7. Instrumental
  8. Si dolce non sonò, madrigal for 3 voices, S. 210
  9. Factus est repente, communio
  10. Sun Credo
  11. Helmo og Nykken (Scandanavian chant)
  12. First Delphic Hymn to Apollo
  13. Dilectus meus descendit, motet for 5 voices (from Motets Book IV from C
  14. Peccantem me quotidie, motet for 5 voices, W. 8/36
  15. Arr "Lydian" for vocal & trumpet
  16. The Melancholy of Departure
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Passage 138 B.C. - A.D. 1611
1994, Telarc Distribution

UPC: 089408035524


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency