Today Only | Up to $15 Off. Get the code »

Nutcracker Suites: Duke Ellington & Billy Strayhorn, Piotr Tchaikovsky ()


Edward Kennedy "Duke" Ellington devoted major efforts over the last three decades of his life to pieces that were, if not entirely "classical" in inspiration, at least composed upon the canvas of Western concert music. The setting of the Nutcracker Suite that he composed with Billy Strayhorn has been among the most popular of these efforts, but it, like the Duke's other concert works, remains somewhat underappreciated. It is a bit startling that, as conductor Steven Richman observes in his booklet notes, that the Ellington ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Overture
  2. March
  3. Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy
  4. Trépak (Russian Dance)
  5. Arabian Dance
  6. Chinese Dance
  7. Dance of the Mirlitons (Reed Flutes)
  8. Waltz of the Flowers
  9. Overture
  10. Toot Toot Tootie Toot (Dance of the Reed-Pipes)
  11. Peanut Brittle Brigade (March)
  12. Sugar Rum Cherry (Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy)
  13. Entr'acte
  14. The Volga Vouty (Russian Dance)
  15. Chinoiserie (Chinese Dance)
  16. Danse of the Floreadores (Waltz of the Flowers)
  17. Arabesque Cookie (Arabian Dance)
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Nutcracker Suites: Duke Ellington & Billy Strayhorn, Piotr Tchaikovsky
2013, Harmonia Mundi

UPC: 093046749323


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency