Music of Cuba: 1909-1951 [Columbia] ()


It seems reasonable to presume that without the unexpected success of the Buena Vista Social Club at the end of the 1990s, Columbia would not have been interested in digging through its vaults for vintage Cuban pop recordings. Whatever it takes to unlock a flood of ethnic music, however, should be welcomed. And you certainly get a wealth of it on this disc, which assembles 25 tracks from 1909-1951, although all but three are from 1926-1942. It's lighthearted, for the most part, danceable popular music (although Sexteto ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Unknown
  2. Se Acabó la Choricera
  3. Miguel, Los Hombres No Lloran
  4. Somos Ocho Orientales
  5. Tus Manos Blancas
  6. As Mozas de Vilanova
  7. Siboney
  8. Mujeres Enamorenme
  9. Noche Azúl
  10. Masabi
  11. Pacto con el Diablo
  12. The Music Goes 'Round and Around
  13. Conga
  14. Mulatica
  15. Tabú
  16. Rumba Tambah
  17. Rumbas Cubanas
  18. El Maraquero
  19. A Centavo el Mazo
  20. Cachita
  21. La Gonga en Nueva York
  22. Impromptu
  23. El Muerto Se Fue de Rumba
  24. La Reina del Gauguancó
  25. Como Ayer
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Music of Cuba: 1909-1951 [Columbia]
2000, Columbia/Legacy

UPC: 074646223420


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency