2 Day Sale | Save up to $20. Get the code »

Mr. Gentle Mr. Cool ()


David "Fathead" Newman is in excellent form on this tasteful program of 11 Duke Ellington compositions. Performing in a sextet with trombonist Jim Pugh, pianist David Leonhardt, bassist Peter Washington, Ron Carter on piccolo bass and drummer Lewis Nash, Newman splits his time between tenor and alto and takes a flute solo on "Azure." The music contains few real surprises (other than the utilization of both bass and piccolo bass) but swings nicely and has fine melodic solos. ~ Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  2. Prelude to a Kiss
  3. Mr. Gentle and Mr. Cool
  4. Almost Cried
  5. I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart
  6. Azure
  7. What Am I Here For?
  8. Happy Reunion
  9. Come Sunday
  10. Creole Love Call
  11. Jeep's Blues
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Mr. Gentle Mr. Cool
1994, Kokopelli

UPC: 794044130020


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency