Motets by Peter Philips ()

by , ,

The writer of the booklet notes for this CD contends that Peter Philips is less well known than other English composers of the late Renaissance because he lived and worked mostly in what is now Belgium -- he has been slighted because of the Anglocentric nature of English musical scholarship, the reasoning goes, while he is not exactly a Continental composer, either. It could also be that he just doesn't quite fit into any of the grand narratives under which people file the musicians of the Elizabethan period (no backdrop of ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Ecce Vicit Leo for 8 voices
  2. O Quam Suavis Est, Dominus (ii), for 8 voices & continuo
  3. Tristitia Vestra, motet or 5 voices
  4. Tibi laus, tibi gloria, motet for 5 voices
  5. Ave Jesu Christe for 8 voices
  6. Tu es Petrus, motet for 8 voices
  7. O crux splendidior, motet for 5 voices
  8. Christus resurgens, motet for 5 voices
  9. Salve regina, vita dulcedo, motet for 8 voices
  10. Cantantibus Organis Cecilia, motet for 5 voices
  11. Ascendit Deus for 5 voices
  12. O quam suavis est (i), a 8 (1613)
  13. Hodie Concepta Est, motet
  14. Litania Duodecima, motet
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Motets by Peter Philips
2005, Hyperion

UPC: 034571152547


Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency