Save up to $15 | Today Only. Get the code »

alibris logo

Monterey Concerts ()


This two-LP set is the definitive early Cal Tjader album and one of the high points of his career. For a Monterey concert that was considered a preview concert for the 1959 Monterey Jazz Festival, Tjader was teamed up with flutist and altoist Paul Horn, pianist Lonnie Hewitt, bassist Al McKibbon, Willie Bobo (on drums and timbales), and percussionist Mongo Santamaria. Their renditions of Latinized jazz tunes along with a few Latin originals practically define the idiom. Highlights include "Doxy," one of the earliest ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Doxy
  2. Afro Blue
  3. Laura
  4. Walkin' With Wally
  5. We'll Be Together Again
  6. 'Round Midnight
  7. Love Me or Leave Me
  8. Tu Crees Que
  9. S.S. Groove
  10. A Night in Tunisia
  11. Bess, You Is My Woman
  12. Lover Come Back to Me
  13. Tumbao
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Monterey Concerts
1989, Prestige

UPC: 025218542623


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency