alibris logo

Make It Funky - The Big Payback: 1971-1975 ()


While the first half of the 1970s saw James Brown's sales and art start to slowly decline, at their best he and the J.B.'s remained capable of generating a lot of heat. Record-wise it was a very erratic period, especially on his albums, which makes this two-and-a-half-hour double-disc compilation of his best material from the era especially welcome. Besides his biggest hits from the time ("Make It Funky," "Get on the Good Foot," "The Payback," "Funky President"), it has a number of high-charting R&B 45s that didn't make it ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Escape-ism
  2. Hot Pants, Pts. 1 & 2
  3. I'm a Greedy Man
  4. Make It Funky, Pts. 1-4
  5. King Heroin
  6. I Got Ants in My Pants (And I Want to Dance)
  7. There It Is
  8. Get on the Good Foot
  9. Don't Tell It
  10. I Got a Bag of My Own
  11. Down and Out in New York City
  12. Think
  13. Make It Good to Yourself (Interlude)
  14. The Payback
  15. Stoned to the Bone
  16. Mind Power
  17. World of Soul
  18. Papa Don't Take No Mess
  19. Coldblooded
  20. I Can't Stand It "76"
  21. My Thang
  22. Funky President (People It's Bad)
  23. I Got You (I Feel Good)
  24. Problems
  25. Turn on the Heat and Build Some Fire
  26. Hot Pants
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Make It Funky - The Big Payback: 1971-1975
1996, Polydor

UPC: 731453305229


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency