Weekend Sale | Save $15. Get the code »

Love's Joy - Love's Sorrow ()

by , , ,

This collection of Fritz Kreisler recordings comes from Britain's Living Era imprint, which has issued fine single-artist compilations in both classical and pop realms. They were made in Germany, England, and America, and date from 1926 to 1946 -- really the peak years of Kreisler's career, although the ones Kreisler recorded after he was hit by a truck in New York and spent four weeks in a coma are thought by some to be inferior. The difference is slight indeed, however, and one of these, the Violin Concerto in C major in ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Liebesfreud (Love's Joy), for violin & piano
  2. Liebesleid (Love's Sorrow), for violin & piano
  3. Schön Rosmarin, for violin & piano
  4. Caprice Viennois, for violin & piano (or orchestra), Op. 2
  5. Tambourin Chinois, for violin & piano, Op. 3
  6. Humoresque for violin & piano (arr. from Dvorák's Humoresque, Op. 101/7)
  7. Serenade for violin & piano (transcription from Lehár's Frasquita)
  8. Old Folks at Home (Swanee River) for violin & piano (transcription of work by Foster)
  9. Souvenir, for violin & piano in D major
  10. The Old Refrain, for violin & piano (transcription of Johann Brandl's "Du alter Stefansturm" from Der liebe Augustin)
  11. Midnight Bells, for violin & piano (after Im Chambre séparée from Heuberger's "Der Opernball")
  12. Hindu Song (Song of India) for violin & piano (transcription from Rimsky-Korsakov's Sadko)
  13. Poupée Valsante (The Dancing Doll), for violin & piano (transcription of work by Ede Poldini)
  14. Londonderry Air, for piano trio
  15. La Gitana for violin & piano (after an 18th century Arabo-Spanish Gypsy song)
  16. Violin Concerto in the style of Vivaldi in C major
  17. Chanson Louis XIII and Pavane, in the Style of Couperin, for violin & piano
  18. Rondino on a Theme by Beethoven, for violin & piano
  19. The Rosary, for violin & piano (after Etherbert Nevin)
  20. The King Steps Out, film score: Stars In My Eyes - song (The King Steps Out, 1936 film; adapted from Who Can Tell?, 1919 operetta A
  21. Marche Miniature Viennoise, for violin & piano
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Love's Joy - Love's Sorrow
2006, Living Era

UPC: 743625856125


Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency