2-Day Sale | $20 Off. Get the code »

alibris logo

Love Makes a Woman ()


Always classy and elegant, Barbara Acklin's debut album, Love Makes a Woman could survive on the reputation of the title track alone. One of the premier recordings of writer/producer Carl Davis, "Love Makes a Woman" features the bright horns and relaxed rhythms that are hallmarks of his productions for the Brunswick label. Coupled with Acklin's tense, confident delivery, the results are one of pop-soul's true shining moments. Well-written originals here, like "Be By My Side" and "Come and See Me Baby," more than stand up to ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. What the World Needs Now Is Love
  2. The Look of Love
  3. The Old Matchmaker
  4. Come and See Me Baby
  5. I've Got You Baby
  6. Love Makes a Woman
  7. Please Sunrise Please
  8. Your Sweet Loving
  9. Yes I See the Love (I Missed)
  10. To Sir With Love
  11. Be by My Side
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency