Weekend Sale | Save $10. Get the code »

Lonely Avenue/Newmanism ()


These two sessions from reed player David Newman -- originally issued by Atlantic in 1972 and 1974 -- accomplish the tough job of retaining musical integrity in the midst of clearly commercial leanings. The result is performances, which, at their best, are definitive R&B-driven soul-jazz from this era. Unlike too many of their contemporaries working this vein, Newman and producer Joel Dorn eschew the easy temptation to bolt on backup singers, canned string sections, and static, ersatz grooves. Instead, the music builds on ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Fuzz
  2. Precious Lord
  3. Symphonette
  4. Lonely Avenue
  5. 3/4 of the Time
  6. Fire Weaver
  7. Baby Rae
  8. Song for the New Man
  9. Violet Don't Be Blue
  10. Foxy Brown
  11. Newmanism
  12. Sweet Tears
  13. Let Me Know
  14. Brandy
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Lonely Avenue/Newmanism
2001, Collectables

UPC: 090431660720


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency