Lone Star Legend ()


David "Fathead" Newman has such a strong reputation as a soulful saxophonist that sometimes people forget how creative a straight-ahead improviser he can be. His two Muse LPs, Resurgence and Still Hard Times, have been reissued in full on this deluxe single CD. Whether playing tenor, flute, soprano or alto, Newman's solos are full of personality and logical ideas. On one of the sets he is teamed with trumpeter Marcus Belgrave in a sextet (along with guitarist Ted Dunbar, pianist Cedar Walton, bassist Buster Williams and ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Everything Must Change
  2. Mama Lou
  3. Davey Blue
  4. Carnegie Blues
  5. Akua Ewie
  6. To the Holy Land
  7. Shana
  8. Blisters
  9. One for My Baby (And One More for the Road)
  10. To Love Again
  11. Still Hard Times
  12. Please Send Me Someone to Love
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Lone Star Legend
2003, Savoy Jazz

UPC: 795041724922


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency