Black Friday Sale | $20 Coupon. Get the code »

alibris logo

How Fiction Works

by

Rediscover this deep, practical anatomy of the novel from 'the strongest ... literary critic we have' (New York Review of Books) in this new revised 10th anniversary edition. What do we mean when we say we 'know' a fictional character? What constitutes a 'telling' detail? When is a metaphor successful? Is realism realistic? Why do most endings of novels disappoint? In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a study of the main elements of ...

loading
  • Book Details
  • Seller
How Fiction Works
2012, Blackstone Audiobooks

ISBN-13: 9781433291210

Audiobook CD

How Fiction Works
2009, Picador USA, New York

ISBN-13: 9780312428471

Trade paperback

How Fiction Works
2009, Vintage, London

ISBN-13: 9781845950934

Mass-market paperback

How Fiction Works
2009, Blackstone Audiobooks

ISBN-13: 9781433291197

Audiobook CD

How Fiction Works
2009, Blackstone Audiobooks

ISBN-13: 9781433291227

MP3 format

How Fiction Works
2009, Findaway World

ISBN-13: 9781433291265

Unknown binding

How Fiction Works
2008, Farrar Straus Giroux, New York, NY

ISBN-13: 9780374173401

Hardcover

How Fiction Works
2008, Jonathan Cape Ltd, London

ISBN-13: 9780224079839

Hardcover

How Fiction Works
2008, Jonathan Cape Ltd, London

ISBN-13: 9780224079846

Mass-market paperback

Filter Results
Shipping
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency