Weekend Sale | $15 Off. Get the code »

alibris logo

Gumbo Nouveau ()


Only 22 at the time of this CD, Nicholas Payton had already quickly developed into a major trumpeter. Possessing a fat tone that is sometimes reminiscent of Freddie Hubbard, by the mid-'90s Payton had become New Orleans' latest significant contribution to jazz. On his second Verve release, Payton interprets and modernizes ten songs associated with his hometown and/or Louis Armstrong. Fortunately, Payton generally retains the flavor and joy of the original versions, even while he transforms much of the music into hard bop. ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Whoopin' Blues
  2. When the Saints Go Marching In
  3. Wild Man Blues
  4. After You've Gone
  5. Way Down Yonder in New Orleans
  6. Down in Honky Tonk Town]
  7. I Gotta Right to Sing the Blues
  8. Li'l Liza Jane
  9. Weather Bird
  10. St. James Infirmary
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Gumbo Nouveau
1996, PolyGram

UPC: 731453119925


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency