Early Southern Guitar Sounds ()


Folklorist/singer/multi-instrumentalist Mike Seeger may not bear the cultural weight of his better-known cousin Pete, but between the two a veritable encyclopedia set of sepia-tone Americana resides. Seeger's follow-up to his excellent 2003 Smithsonian Folkways release True Vine is as much a historical artifact as it is the perfect front porch/parlor room soundtrack for a hot summer's day. Early Southern Guitar Sounds is just that, a 28-track musical lecture on the styles, body shapes, and songs that mythically described ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Wildwood Flower
  2. Old Chisholm Trail
  3. Spanish Fandango
  4. Shakin' the Pines in the Holler
  5. Weary Lonesome Blues
  6. White Oak Mountain
  7. I'm Crazy Over You
  8. Can't Get a Letter from Home
  9. Guitar Rag
  10. Smoketown Strut
  11. Big Kid's Barroom
  12. Fishing Blues
  13. After All Has Been Said and Done
  14. Joe Lee's Tune
  15. Carroll County Blues
  16. Birmingham Tickle
  17. Worried Blues
  18. Kenny Wagner's Surrender
  19. Arizona
  20. Pearly Dew
  21. Risselty Rosselty
  22. Johnny Doyle
  23. Black Jack David
  24. John Henry
  25. Buckdancer's Choice
  26. Riley and Spencer
  27. When This World Comes to an End
  28. Leaning on the Everlasting Arm
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Early Southern Guitar Sounds
2007, Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

UPC: 093074015728


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency