Today Only | Save $20. Get the code »

alibris logo

Dear Louis ()


Dear Louis is based upon Nicholas Payton's commissioned tribute to jazz icon Louis Armstrong and was recorded primarily during the year 2000. The CD features 13 songs primarily popularized by Louis Armstrong with Payton performing some priceless trumpet solos in the stellar company of his 14-piece band. He is joined by special guest vocalists Dr. John and Dianne Reeves. Nicholas Payton premiered his original title track, "Dear Louis," as a quartet feature at Lincoln Center as part the commission that spurred the recording. ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Potato Head Blues
  2. Hello, Dolly!
  3. You Rascal You
  4. Tight Like This
  5. Interlude (St. James Infirmary)
  6. On the Sunny Side of the Street
  7. Dear Louis
  8. Blues in the Night
  9. The Peanut Vendor
  10. Mack the Knife
  11. Tiger Rag
  12. I'll Never Be the Same
  13. West End Blues
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Dear Louis
2001, Uptown/Universal

UPC: 731454941921


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency