$15 Off | 2-Day Sale. Get the code »

Conjure: Music for the Texts of Ishmael Reed ()


Essentially the brainchild of Kip Hanrahan, the loose-knit group known as Conjure brings to bear all the elements that he had fused so successfully in the various projects released under his own name: avant-garde jazz, Latin (especially Afro-Cuban) rhythms, and a deep, funky blues sensibility. Here, using texts from the contemporary author Ishmael Reed, he distributes the composing duties to everyone from Lester Bowie to Taj Mahal to Allen Toussaint, mixes a heady instrumental gumbo, and allows things to percolate to a fine ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Jes' Grew
  2. The Wardrobe Master of Paradise
  3. Dualism (1)
  4. Oakland Blues
  5. Skydiving
  6. Judas
  7. Betty Ball's Blues
  8. Untitled II
  9. Fool-Ology (The Song)
  10. From the Files of Agent 22
  11. Dualism (2)
  12. Rhythm in Philosophy
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Conjure: Music for the Texts of Ishmael Reed
1995, American Clave

UPC: 753607100627


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency