Chess Blues Classics: 1947-1956 ()


Part of a two-volume set as part of MCA's Chess 50th Anniversary collection, this offers a 16-track thumbnail sketch of the sounds that made the label the tops in the blues field. Beginning with two Aristocrat sides (the label's original moniker) from 1948 and 1949 featuring Muddy Waters ("I Can't Be Satisfied") and Little Johnny Jones ("Big Town Playboy" with Muddy on backup guitar), the collection rolls through its treasures chronologically, virtually cherry-picking the hits from the innumerable classics stored in the ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. I Can't Be Satisfied
  2. Big Town Playboy
  3. That's All Right
  4. Long Distance Call
  5. Sugar Mama
  6. Twenty-Four Hours
  7. Blues With a Feeling
  8. I Just Want to Make Love to You
  9. Reconsider Baby
  10. Eisenhower Blues
  11. My Babe
  12. I'm a Man
  13. Don't Start Me to Talkin'
  14. Smokestack Lightning
  15. Twenty-Nine Ways to My Baby's Door
  16. Rock Me
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Chess Blues Classics: 1947-1956
1997, Chess

UPC: 076732936924


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency