Weekend Sale | Save $15. Get the code »

Chamber Vespers: Miniature Masterpieces of the Italian Baroque ()

by , , , , , , , ,

"Chamber Vespers" is a category invented for this recording by the Gonzaga Band, a British ensemble named for the powerful and at times arts-friendly Gonzaga family of Mantua, Italy. The Vespers setting known to casual early Baroque listeners is likely to be the work known as the Vespers of 1610 of Claudio Monteverdi, a massive work whose very size and sumptuousness have made it into a musicological puzzle: it's not clear who would have bankrolled a performance or how it would have been used. The music on this album, by ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Domine ad adjuvandum me
  2. Dixit Dominus (Psalm 109)
  3. Sonata per il cornetto e trombone (Concerti Ecclesiastici)
  4. Laudate pueri (Psalm 2), for voice, cornet & continuo
  5. Toccata 4, for lute (from Intavolatura di Liuto)
  6. Laetatus sum (Psalm 3), for voice, cornet & continuo
  7. Canzoni da sonare...libro primo, No. 3, canto solo, Canzon terza, for instruments
  8. Nisi Dominus (Psalm 4), for 2 voices & continuo
  9. Capricci ... et arie in partitura, Vol.1 No.11, Capriccio Undecimo sopra un soggetto, for keyboard
  10. Lauda Jerusalem (Psalm 5), for 2 voices, 2 cornets & continuo
  11. Sonata sopra 'Sancta Maria', for voice & ensemble
  12. Ave maris stella, motet
  13. Magnificat primi toni
  14. Regina caeli, for voice, 2 cornets & continuo
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Chamber Vespers: Miniature Masterpieces of the Italian Baroque
2011, Chandos

UPC: 095115078228


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency